Elective Care Essentials programme

(0)

Support for managers to improve the breadth and depth of their knowledge and expertise regarding the key components of elective care infrastructure that underpin and support sustainable delivery of referral to treatment, cancer and diagnostic waiting times.

About the programme

The Essentials programme offers a standardised, practical and comprehensive syllabus of applied learning covering all aspects of operational management of elective care services. It will enhance participants’ knowledge, skills and expertise in elective care operational management and enable managers to do their job more effectively.

The programme has been developed and is delivered by the Elective Intensive Support Team and includes input from external experts regarding clinical engagement, information and reporting. Two types of the programme are offered a generic elective care and a cancer-specific programme. 

Elective Care Essentials — programme outline PDF, 532.3 KB

Find out more about the programme.

Cohorts in 2019/2020

We have already delivered or are in the process of delivering cohorts 1 — 6. The schedule for cohorts 7 — 11 running up to March 2020 is shown below.

Cohort No Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 Day 6 Elective or cancer-specific Location Closing date for applications
10 Tuesday 14 January 2020 Tuesday 28 January Tuesday 11 February 2020 Tuesday 25 February 2020 Tuesday 10 March 2020 Tuesday 24 March 2020 Elective London Thursday 14 November 2019
11 Tuesday 18 February 2020 Tuesday 3 March Tuesday 17 March 2020 Tuesday 31 March 2020 Tuesday 21 April 2020 Tuesday 5 May 2020 Cancer Doncaster Thursday 5 December 2019

How to apply

Before applying, you should ensure you meet the entry criteria, ie:

  • have day-to-day operational responsibility for either elective care or cancer services
  • you have approval from your line manager and sponsorship from a senior executive lead in your trust
  • you can attend all six days

Please select the relevant application form, clearly indicating the cohort you would like to attend and return the form to nhsi.electivecareessentials@nhs.net. This email address should also be used for general enquiries about the programme.

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve this website

Do not include any personal, sensitive or confidential information.