NHS Oversight Framework for 2019/20: provider trust segmentation


Sets out the segmentation of NHS trusts and foundation trusts and the level of support we'll provide.

Provider segmentation — this is the latest segmentation of the provider sector.

Under the NHS Oversight Framework for 2019/20, we segment providers based on the level of support each provider needs.

What the segments mean

We’ve segmented trusts according to the level of support each trust needs across the five themes of quality of care, finance and use of resources, operational performance, strategic change and leadership and improvement capability.

We update our website as and when individual providers’ segments change in line with support needs.

Each trust is segmented into one of the following four categories:

Segment Description
1 Providers with maximum autonomy: no potential support needs identified. Lowest level of oversight; segmentation decisions taken quarterly in the absence of any significant deterioration in performance.
2 Providers offered targeted support: there are concerns in relation to one or more of the themes. We've identified targeted support that the provider can access to address these concerns, but which they are not obliged to take up. For some providers in segment 2, more evidence may need to be gathered to identify appropriate support.
3 Providers receiving mandated support for significant concerns: there is actual or suspected breach of licence, and a Regional Support Group has agreed to seek formal undertakings from the provider or the Provider Oversight Committee has agreed to impose regulatory requirements.
4 Providers in special measures: there is actual or suspected breach of licence with very serious and/or complex issues. The Provider Oversight Committee has agreed it meets the criteria to go into special measures.

Related content

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve this website

Do not include any personal, sensitive or confidential information.