The Sir Peter Carr Award: inspiring the next generation of NHS leaders 2017/18


The Sir Peter Carr Award is for clinicians and managers, designed to help and inspire the NHS leaders of tomorrow to improve services for patients.

What is the award?

The Sir Peter Carr Award was created in 2017 for clinician and manager partnerships working in NHS trusts and foundation trusts in England.

The winners received a sum of money to invest in their professional development to support the delivery of a shared improvement objective. However, all shortlisted partnerships had access to a range of support including mentoring, networks, personal development, improvement skill-building and opportunities to attend events during the year. 

Why was the award created?

Our award was inspired by Sir Peter Carr, who supported and fostered innovation in the NHS during his distinguished 25 years of service in a range of regional and national non-executive roles. It was in recognition of his unique contribution and his philosophy that this award was set up for 2017. 

The award also demonstrates the importance we attach to investing in leadership for improvement, which was a key part of our national framework Developing People — Improving Care. This is an evidence-based framework to guide action on improvement skill building, leadership development and talent management for people in NHS-funded roles. The key principles of this, such as compassionate and inclusive leadership, were central to Sir Peter’s philosophy and provide the context for judging the award.

About the 2017 award

Sir Peter Carr Award 2017-2018 PDF, 1.4 MB

Find out what the Sir Peter Carr Award winners and the finalists have been up to since the award announcement in July 2017. You will learn about all five successful partnerships, their professional and personal development journeys, their improvement projects and their key messages for NHS leaders.

Developing people to improve care

What has being part of this award given you?’

Key messages for NHS leaders

Who were the winners?

This being the first year of the award, we received over 90 applications and it was announced in July 2017 that Dr Rachel Pilling, a Consultant Ophthalmologist, and Daniel Wadsworth, Deputy Head of Access at Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, impressed judges with their improvement idea ‘15 seconds – 30 minutes'. They won a £30,000 award to invest in this and their professional development.

Through NHS Improvement, all five partnerships shortlisted for the award received access to a range of support and education and development over a year long period, including forming a learning network, with support from the NHS Leadership Academy and ACT Academy.

What was the winning partnership’s improvement project and how is it going?

‘15 seconds — 30 minutes’ is a quality improvement approach which encourages staff to spend an extra 15 seconds on a task which could save someone else 30 minutes later down the line. The initiative aims to reduce frustration and increase joy at work and improve services for patients. Dan and Rachel support staff in Bradford to use this approach through running workshops, developing tools and resources and they want to create a social movement for staff in other trusts to use this approach.

Dan and Rachel have recently hosted their first 15s30m festival in Bradford with representation from a range of other trusts and have also created their own 15s30m website with information, resources and blogs to get people inspired and involved. To find out more, follow Rachel and Dan on Twitter @15s30m or email them at

Who were the runners up?

Dr Anna Winfield, a Patient Safety and Quality Manager, and Dr Alison Cracknell, a Consultant Geriatrician of Leeds Teaching Hospitals, received £10,000 and a package of ongoing support from us to invest in their professional development and their shared improvement project. The aim of their project is to embed the principle that every data point represents a patient and to make improvement data accessible to both patients and staff in order to drive patient-centred improvement.

The shortlisted partnerships included: 

  • Emma Willey, Service Development Manager, and Dr Anna Davis, Integrated Clinical Care Lead, from Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Jonathan Holley, Speciality Registrar — Trauma and Orthopaedics, and Caitlin Richens, Assistant General Manager, from Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Natalie Davidson, Associate Director of Operations — Resilience Management, and Dr Gurkaran Samra, Acute Medicine Registrar, from Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

The Sir Peter Carr Award 2019

Applications are now open for the Sir Peter Carr Award 2019/20. Details of how to apply can be found here.

Related content

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve this website

Do not include any personal, sensitive or confidential information.